October’s Full “Hunter’s” Moon 10-13-19

The Desert Path

Oct Full MoonOctober’s Full Hunter’s Moon

Date: October 13, 2019

Time: 2:07 pm PST/ 3:07 pm MST/ 5:07 pm  EDT
The Old Farmer’s Almanac calls October’s moon the Hunter’s Moon, where pagan almanacs call it the Blood Moon, both are correct. The reference of the Hunter’s Moon is very similar to the Harvest Moon as work or in this case hunting could be done into the evening hours due to the brightness of the moon itself. However, the name Blood Moon has nothing to do with hunting. Like Septembers Harvest Moon the debris in the earth’s atmosphere (like dust, smoke, etc.) cause the rising moon to appear reddish, thus the name Blood Moon. Other names for this moon are the Shedding Moon, Falling Leaf Moon, Hunter’s Moon, White Moon (china), Harvest Moon (Cherokee & Celtic), Blackberry Moon (Choctaw), Moon When Quilling & Beading Is Done (Dakota).

From the beginning of October until…

View original post 240 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.